A cache (pronounced "cash") is a temporary store of information that has been duplicated for the purpose of speeding up access to data. The original data is stored elsewhere or was computed at an earlier time. For example, when browsing web sites a cache of viewed files are stored in temporary folders and can be viewed when you are offline.
ParetoLogic Privacy Controls uses a database of definitions (items that can be scanned) that are organized by categories. From time-to-time this database is updated to broaden the range of support offered.
Cookies are files that are stored on a computer system after viewing a web site. There are cookies that store information such as username and password so that you do not have to enter them every time you visit a site. Cookies can also be used to track browsing activities across multiple web sites. Often this is done to present the user with specific advertisement to entice them to buy. As a result, privacy and security of information are at risk.
Most people use the terms "delete" and "erase" interchangeably when referring to removing computer files. Delete is used here to mean securely deleting files so that the file cannot be located or restored using Windows Explorer. Erase is used here to mean permanently erasing data from the system so that not even a recovery tool can restore it. See overwrite for information on permanently destroying data.
Computer applications often keep a history of previously opened or viewed items to offer quick access to these recently accessed files. For example, web browsers store links to recently visited web pages, previously viewed web sites are displayed from the history pane, and web addresses are auto-generated when typing in the first letters of the web site.
- License key
A license key is an alphanumeric code provided by ParetoLogic for the purpose of registering the product so that you can receive full functionality. A key is required to upgrade from a trial version to a full version of the product.
Overwriting records new data over top pre-existing data. When you overwrite a file, the file cannot be recovered. Privacy Controls replaces byte information with all zeroes, all ones, a random pattern, or a combination of these depending on the overwrite level that is selected. The data that is overwritten is non-retrievable.
With the normal "Delete" operation, a file recovery tool may be able to restore the data before it is overwritten with newly created data.
There are many directories on Microsoft computer system that are given the name "Temp" and contain temporary files. These files are used to store items for a temporary period of time and can be deleted afterwards. For example, Windows operating systems use Temp folders to store previously viewed Internet files and make use of temporary files to store browsing history information and settings.
Modified on: Fri, 2 Aug, 2019 at 7:23 AM
Did you find it helpful?Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.